Author Topic: Ideas on what type of JTAG device to purchase  (Read 1234 times)

Offline stuartbhTopic starter

Ideas on what type of JTAG device to purchase
« on: March 28, 2023, 10:04:22 am »
Forum members,

Whilst this may be a common question, I am going to try to best articulate my intended use case in the initiate and then I pray everyone here will feel fully armed (excuse the pun) to provision their opinion and counter questions in pursuance of making a reasonable choice as to a JTAG device.

I am an OpenWRT user and have bricked a router or two from time to time. Most of the time they have serial interfaces I can use to recover them, though some have JTAG also. It is my main use case for JTAG (to de-brick routers) and I would likely use OpenOCD as my software (I am fully Linux conversant as I have been a Linux consultant for several decades). I also have an entirely unsupported router that I wish to try to get OpenWRT to work on and I may also need JTAG though I suspect it has a serial port too. Lastly, I wish to get into more hardware hacking and having a faster and more capable JTAG device rather than just wanting to buy the dirt cheapest thing would be something I'd be very open too. It is something I suspect I'll buy and not need to repurchase for a while so getting a better one for a few dollars more is okay with me if it makes sense.

I realize that this question has been asked before, but the hardware that is available changes as time goes on as does do the capabilities, so I do apologize if it seems an asked and answered question.

Thanks in advance to all respondents for their time and consideration regarding the instant matter.

Stuart

Offline CaptDon

• Super Contributor
Re: Ideas on what type of JTAG device to purchase
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2023, 02:00:52 pm »
Have you tried posting this question in the FPGA forum?