Author Topic: Vans and crashing electronics  (Read 915 times)

Offline jospannerTopic starter

Vans and crashing electronics
« on: July 19, 2021, 07:18:43 pm »
Hi, I'm a relatively new hobbyist, I'm more of a mechanic by trade, but I enjoy playing with electronics.

I'm trying to fix what is, I assume, a noise problem on my vehicle's electrical system. I know this isn't a mechanics forum, but please hear me out: In my mind this is more of a question about power supplies and noise.

The electrical system on my van ('81 VW T3/Vanagon, carburated aircooled engine, very old school) keeps doing unpleasant things to electronic devices: most notably, the new gauges I tried to install, and my Hantek USB oscilloscope. In the case of the gauges, it reboots them or makes them act erratically. In the case of the Hantek, it crashes the hardware and requires a physical reconnect to the laptop before it'll connect again (using OpenHantek software).

This problem starts as soon as the engine is started, and I did briefly manage to observe some little spikes in the 12V supply (10x probe setting) on the Hantek before it crashes.

The symptom persists with the alternator disconnected. So, I would guess ignition noise.

The question then, is, how do I approach this? As an EE hobbyist, I'm happy to try my own circuits, but considering that I'm having trouble even measuring what's going on here, I'm not sure where to start. I don't really know anything about noise or how to suppress it. I've just been trying some electrolytics across the 12V and gnd connections, a 12v linear regulator too, but no joy there - still crashes the scope etc.

A few things that could stand out: