Author Topic: My project started smoking.. not sure what’s wrong and if it can be fixed easily  (Read 1337 times)

Offline paul_b_78Topic starter

• Contributor
Please see link to a project I have built.
All was going so well until I forgot to plug the soldering iron into the 5 din socket.
Arrrrrgghh
It started to smoke a little and I’m sure it’s the irlz logic mosfet.
Urgently could do with some assistance

https://www.instructables.com/DIY-Digital-Soldering-Station/#discuss

Any way I can run a test on my nano without pretty much destroying my built board to check it is giving me correct reading on all outputs.
I am a novice but I am getting better at this.... well apart from frying something of course and choosing a board and enclose too small along with soldering which is not that great either.. so pretty much a complete fail.

Also I followed most of the schematic but mainly worked off the Gerber / PDF drawing using a Perfboard and building the whole circuit from scratch. It’s not the neatest of jobs but I’m fairly confident I followed it exactly the same.
It’s taken me quite a while to do it also as I don’t get to spend all hours each day on it due to other priorities. But I really would like to see if I can fix the issue rather than bin it

Could send images of my board but I’m disappointed with my soldering since I chose a perfboard and plastic enclosure a little too small, and so things are really tight and rather messy.
Hoping I don’t have to bin it as sent far too long on it
« Last Edit: June 12, 2021, 11:24:50 am by paul_b_78 »

Offline Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
Re: I’m in big big trouble....urgent assistance needed
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2021, 11:13:48 am »
You could start by editing the title of your post to describe what you need help with.

The following users thanked this post: Gyro

Offline Manul

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2021, 11:22:32 am »