Author Topic: Impedance  (Read 8509 times)

Offline stan001Topic starter

• Contributor
    • Arduino for Beginners
Impedance
« on: December 31, 2010, 05:37:49 pm »
I am a beginner in electronics and have a hard time trying to understand the concept of impedance..

The below statement :-
Arduino (Atmega) pins configured as INPUT with pinMode() are said to be in a high-impedance state.

Is high impedance state equal to high resistance ??

What is the relationship between impedance and resistance ?

How do I know if a sensor or load is high or low impedance ??

Hope someone can help to clarify this or give some examples...

Offline tyblu

• Frequent Contributor
    • blog.tyblu.ca
Re: Impedance
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2010, 06:10:06 pm »
impedance: Z ; admittance: Y = 1/Z
resistance: R ; conductance G = 1/R
reactance: X ; susceptance B = 1/X

Z = R + jX ; Y = G + jB

Impedance takes into account frequency-dependent (frequency reactant) nature of a load. It's probably a good idea to write the above on the ceiling above your bed, or somewhere common. A resistor has impedance of Z = R; a capacitor has impedance of Z = Inf. (open-circuit) at DC, Z = -j/wC with AC; an inductor has impedance of Z = 0 (short-circuit) at DC, Z = jwL with AC. It is more useful to define impedance instead of resistance, as it tells the reader how it behaves with different frequency electrical signals.
Tyler Lucas, electronics hobbyist

Offline Time

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2010, 07:58:02 pm »