Author Topic: Interpreting old schematic  (Read 2193 times)

Offline HesswelderTopic starter

Interpreting old schematic
« on: July 16, 2023, 12:59:22 am »
So I want to start off by saying that I am still a newbie for the most part but I have been building synth circuits from schematics for awhile now.
I have stumbled on this pdf for a speech synthesizer from a "Wireless World" magazine 1978. I would like to build it, but I am having some trouble interpreting some aspects such as legibility of numbers and certain connections marked with asterisks.
Attached is a schematic made from the pdf trying to be faithful to the original and with my best judgement, it is a sort of pictorial representation. Some Notes about my drawing; nets are color coded for readability, variable resistors are represented as a pot wired as a rheostat, use of two TL074s instead of 471s, omitted Lm380+speaker. I'm also a bit concerned about using an 18v power source (two PP3 batteries) as stated in the pdf because of how some chips are only rated at 15v max.
I appreciate any thoughts or insight. I apologize if this isn't posted in the correct forum.

Online ledtester

• Super Contributor
Re: Interpreting old schematic
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2023, 01:17:01 am »
I'm also a bit concerned about using an 18v power source (two PP3 batteries) as stated in the pdf because of how some chips are only rated at 15v max.

According to this datasheet:

https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/tl074.pdf?ts=1689441725071

the TL074 in the PDIP package ("N" suffix) can handle a supply voltage of up to 42V.

Btw - you can find somewhat better scans of those articles here:

https://worldradiohistory.com/UK/Wireless-World/70s/Wireless-World-1978-12.pdf
https://worldradiohistory.com/UK/Wireless-World/70s/Wireless-World-1979-01-S-OCR.pdf