Author Topic: Interrupts in a motor controller?  (Read 2211 times)

Offline frmdstryrTopic starter

• Contributor
Interrupts in a motor controller?
« on: August 08, 2022, 01:52:43 pm »
There's a thread on HN today about someones stm32 BLDC driver and a commenter mentions "you're using interrupts in a motor controller!?!" (https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=32381448)

Is it considered bad practice to use interrupts with motion control? Does that only apply to bldc/FOC that mainly use pwm?

I've written a simple 3 axis stepper motor controller but it used timers to generate the step signals in the IRQ. It seems to work pretty well up to about 200khz but I'm always open to better/simpler ways to do things.   Since I'm relatively new to it all (and work alone) any comments or input from those with more experience?

Online tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
Re: Interrupts in a motor controller?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2022, 02:39:37 pm »
It usually isn't considered bad practice up until the point when your motor is suddenly on fire.
Same goes for breakpoints.
Then the engineering team learns and stops doing it.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2022, 03:05:38 pm »
Sounds like a bad practice then... so what is the alternative? A giant polling loop? Always masking other interrupts and running them in a statically-allocated stack or something?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2022, 04:32:29 pm by frmdstryr »

Offline eugene

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2022, 08:45:34 pm »
Seriously? So if I have a motion system with closed loop control that updates once per ms, I can't just setup a timer to trigger an interrupt every ms that sets a flag telling the main loop it's time for a time step?

How is it supposed to be done? Do I need to check the contents of a free running counter every time through the main loop?