Author Topic: [Solved] IRF3205 has positive temp coefficient, but conducts better as it warms  (Read 570 times)

Offline ballsystemlordTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hello,
Baring the possibility I got fake parts, which is possible, but they're labeled correctly, I'm at a loss to describe what's going on here.
I am still rather new to electronics, and I like to test things to make certain that I understand what's going on.
I created a circuit to play with these IRF3205 MOSFETs. (Yes, I know DC isn't the "normal" way to operate these things. It's easy to see what's going on though.)

I've noticed that as the MOSFET warms up, the current in the circuit increases. This tells me that RDS(on) is decreasing. But the datasheet https://www.infineon.com/dgdl/irf3205pbf.pdf?fileId=5546d462533600a4015355def244190a shows an increase in RDS(on) as the MOSFET warms up.

So, any idea as to what's going on?

Thanks!

EDIT: Vds is 12v.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2023, 11:26:31 pm by ballsystemlord »

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
What is Vgs in the circuit?
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

• Regular Contributor
Umm, I didn't measure that...
I can't be more than Vds, which is 12v.
Vgs max is 20v.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2023, 08:09:27 pm by ballsystemlord »

Offline Vovk_Z

• Super Contributor
Ids rises with a temperature with the same Vgs, if Mosfet is open. Look at Fig.1 and Fig.2 of your datasheet.

The following users thanked this post: ballsystemlord

• Regular Contributor
Ids rises with a temperature with the same Vgs, if Mosfet is open. Look at Fig.1 and Fig.2 of your datasheet.
Ah, good point.
But that still doesn't explain why it would rise if the temperature coefficient is positive.

Online magic

• Super Contributor