Author Topic: Is the pico scope 2204A good enough for electronics?  (Read 979 times)

Offline HullenTopic starter

• Contributor
Is the pico scope 2204A good enough for electronics?
« on: February 28, 2024, 04:01:33 am »
I work in heavy equipment and I have a pico scope 2204A that I use occasionally for diagnostics. I am curious if this would also be useful for general electronics use. I am just getting into electronics as a hobby and if this scope would be decent starting out, then maybe I can spend my money on something else. What do you guys think?
Fluke 87V MAX, KPS 9000BT, UEI 525DM, TPI 192-II, Wamptek DPS3010U, Snap On EEDM504D

Offline Muxr

• Super Contributor
Re: Is the pico scope 2204A good enough for electronics?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2024, 04:13:35 am »
They are well regarded scopes. Your model is a bit of an entry level scope 10Mhz and 100 megasamples/s (though with repetitive signals it can do 1Gs/s).

But yes, it's enough to do general electronics with.

The following users thanked this post: Hullen

Offline ejeffrey

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2024, 04:15:53 am »
The 2204 is pretty low end, it's quite limited in both bandwidth and memory depth.  I wouldn't recommend someone getting into electronics buy it, instead spend money elsewhere or save up for a better scope.

But since you already have it, the price is right and it's a perfectly servicable piece of equipment.  It's totally fine for a lot of audio frequency analog and some low speed digital work, although for digital you may have to be clever to work around the sample memory limit. 

So I'd say spend your money elsewhere and upgrade later.  That will also give you a chance to consider whether you want a fancier computer based scope or want to move to a bench top scope. 

The following users thanked this post: Muxr, Hullen

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2024, 09:24:39 am »