Author Topic: Laser driver  (Read 5521 times)

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Laser driver
« on: November 08, 2017, 11:06:26 am »
I wanted to drive a numb08 laser diode.
I'm thinking of using lm338 to build a supply that'll limit voltage to 4.5v max, and 2.77 A current.
I'll use multiple Tvs diode and Zena diode, right next to laser diode for protection.
I want to ask, is it good enough?
Do I need to change anything?
« Last Edit: November 08, 2017, 11:08:08 am by Raj »

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
Re: Laser driver
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2017, 12:06:27 pm »
A laser diode only needs the current to be limited. The forward voltage will sort itself out. Only one LM338 is required to regulate the current.

The supply voltage is 5V and the LM338 needs 3.75V across it ore more to regulate the current to the desired level. The laser diode could drop as much as 4.8V, so you need an 8.55V supply, in order for it to work.

The overvoltage protection diodes will not do anything and aren't needed.

A simple series resistor would stand more of a chance of working, than the complex circuit you've posted.

The following users thanked this post: Raj, rajhlinux

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 02:28:15 pm »
If you decide to modulate diode the regulator transient response
may be of concern.

Regards, Dana.
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

The following users thanked this post: Raj

Offline janoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2017, 03:12:39 pm »
A laser diode only needs the current to be limited. The forward voltage will sort itself out. Only one LM338 is required to regulate the current.