Author Topic: Need advice on soldering station: Hakko FX-951 or FM-203 ?  (Read 771 times)

Offline JLL

• Contributor
Need advice on soldering station: Hakko FX-951 or FM-203 ?
« on: November 22, 2019, 03:30:52 pm »
Hello, newbie here but I've been lurking a lot.

I've read a lot about which soldering station to pick and have basically narrowed it down to the FX-951, which I can get 2nd hand but in good condition for about 130 USD where I live (Japan).

The thing is, I also found another awesome deal for a brand new FM-203 for about 250 USD.

Both of them are genuine Hakko goods, not counterfeit.

Now I'm totally a newbie when it comes to soldering (last time I touched a soldering iron was years ago in school) and the FM-203 is probably overkill for this new hobby I have (retro machines/games repair/mods/research etc).

However, considering the bargain on that FM-203, shouldn't I take it ?

I'm not exactly sure if I will ever need two soldering irons but after reading people's experience, it looks like tweezers are definitely nice to have.
The FM-203 also supports the desoldering gun but I'm not familiar with how that would work since it mentions "a desoldering control box and compressor" as requirements.

What should I do ?
« Last Edit: November 22, 2019, 03:32:23 pm by JLL »

Online GreyWoolfe

• Super Contributor
  • NW0LF
Re: Need advice on soldering station: Hakko FX-951 or FM-203 ?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2019, 07:48:23 pm »
One of my stations is a FX-951.  I like the station.  If I was in your position and had the money, I would opt for the FM-203 simply for all it can do.  You can add tweezers and a desoldering gun.  If that doesn't interest you, you won't be disappointed with the 951.  One suggestion I would make regardless which you buy, when you buy extra tips, always buy OEM, the extra expense is worth it.  Also get tip holders for each tip.  They are cheap and it makes it easier to swap tips, IMHO.