Author Topic: Learning The Art of Electronics vs. Practical Electronics for Inventors vs. OCW  (Read 3687 times)

Offline QuackoTopic starter

Hello,

I'm looking to get into electronics and electrical engineering as a hobby. Preferably, I'm looking for a course / learning resource that will teach me some theory, circuit design, etc, while also having fun hands-on projects or experiments to do along the way. After doing some research, and checking the 'primers' stickied topic, I came to the conclusion that the best learning resources for a beginner like me are LTAoE (I've heard that AoE is more of a reference book), Practical Electronics, and 6.002 from MIT opencourseware. I am a beginner, but I do have introductory e&m physics knowledge (so I already am familiar with essentials, such as Ohm's Law, although my knowledge isn't deep). Also, I would like to add that I have barely any knowledge of calculus, so I am preferably looking for a resource where I can get away with not using calculus too much.

Out of LTAoE, Practical Electronics, and MIT OCW - or maybe even some other resources - which would be the best for a beginner like me? I like the idea of the labs in LAoE, but I've also heard that many of them are not accessible to the average starting hobbyist.

Thanks!

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
One route to consider might be becoming a radio amateur.  It's free and you can study for the test online.  If you can pass that test you will have no trouble figuring out how to proceed with your hobby.  (I think calculus is not a subject that a lot of radio amateurs understand.  It's appropriate for serious hobbyists and engineers.)

You will need a simple multimeter, maybe an oscilloscope and signal generator to get started.  Monkeying around with these devices will reveal many truths.