Author Topic: LiFePO4 battery pack  (Read 602 times)

Offline br4n_d0nTopic starter

• Contributor
LiFePO4 battery pack
« on: May 30, 2023, 02:41:04 pm »
I would like to make a battery pack to charge my cellphone using LiFePO4 batteries, but I'm not sure where to start as I'm new to this.

Can someone point to a simple tutorial for a beginner?

Offline LooseJunkHater

• Frequent Contributor
Re: LiFePO4 battery pack
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2023, 07:14:16 pm »
Any reason why you want to make it from LiFePO4? For this application, LiFePO4 cells are kinda a poor choice.

Offline br4n_d0nTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2023, 11:36:23 pm »
My reasoning is that LiFePO4 last longer and are less of a fire hazard as far as I know.

Offline LooseJunkHater

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2023, 12:07:01 am »
My reasoning is that LiFePO4 last longer and are less of a fire hazard as far as I know.

For most people the power bank cells out-live the actual power bank so I can't imagine that being a significant factor for you. Further, while LiFePO4 does have a significantly lower fire risk, most lithium battery technologies already pose such an incredibly small fire risk (think 0.01% and less). The amount of actual *energy* in a power bank is quite insignificant and power density is of a much bigger factor, hence why most OEM's don't use LiFePO4 cells.

If you're still dead-set on going with LiFePO4, you will need to get an understand of what a BMS is (and ensure you know the difference between a standard lithium battery BMS and a LiFePO4 BMS), what boost/buck technology is, a batteries "C" rating and constant-current delivery capability, as well as the input voltages supported by the actual USB power delivery circuitry. This information isn't at all "simple" and requires some knowledge on electrical engineering. You may be better off utilizing a "kit" of some kind.

Offline Jwillis

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2023, 02:05:47 am »