Author Topic: Measuring low resistance  (Read 8035 times)

Offline cobalt327Topic starter

Measuring low resistance
« on: April 18, 2015, 06:53:50 pm »
Hi all, total noob here so be forewarned!

I need to accurately measure resistances two places right of decimal. As an example, 0.05 ohm. I have a Fluke 77 Series 2 that has served me well for many years but need better resolution(?) that it provides. Someone had mentioned a UNI-T UT61E but I haven't had time to research it.

Offline rx8pilot

• Super Contributor
  • If you want more money, be more valuable.
Re: Measuring low resistance
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2015, 06:56:40 pm »
Are you measuring a wire or resistor?
You may be better off measuring the voltage drop across the device and back calculating the resistance instead of measuring resistance directly. Look at current sense resistor measurements and calculations
Factory400 - the worlds smallest factory. https://www.youtube.com/c/Factory400

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2015, 06:57:19 pm »
You will need to look carefully at the ranges available and resolution (counts ?), if you can get a 0.1 or 0.01 range then all well and good or you will need something with so many counts that at the lower range it measures that sort of value reliably.

« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2015, 07:02:22 pm »
I'm measuring resistance of ~3" lengths of 28 to 30 gauge Ni200 (nickel) wire.

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2015, 07:04:35 pm »
You can probably calculate it.

One way is to use a constant current source and measure the voltage. If you use a 1A constant current source, then the 200mV range on your meter should enable you to measure low resistances fairly easily.

« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2015, 07:22:54 pm »