Author Topic: LM2596 help  (Read 3175 times)

Offline flagZTopic starter

LM2596 help
« on: July 07, 2019, 12:16:07 pm »
Hi all,

I am a newbie in electronics and this year I took some time to focus on it and learn the basics. I am trying to build possibly the most common raspberry pi bot… a battery, a couple of wheels + motors, a buck converter, a motor controller. I want to use a 9V battery with a buck converter (LM2596) and bring it down to 5V (to use it with the raspberry). I bought a few but turning the potentiometers do not seem to vary the output voltage. It is stuck at 8.3/8.5.
Can you give me any pointers about what could i try to make it work? Any help appreciated :-)

Thanks

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: LM2596 help
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2019, 01:13:37 pm »
If you are using a typical cheap 'LM2596' module, the potentiometer for output voltage is part of a potential divider that sets the 'target' output voltage in the range 3V to 40V.  However its only a buck converter not a buck-boost so if you set a voltage greater than the input, it cant actually provide it so with only 9V in, more than 3/4 of the potentiometer range will have no effect on the output voltage, which will be stuck at the input voltage.   Its also likely to be a multi-turn preset, so there's lots of turns with no effect.  Keep turning it one way till either the voltage drops or it starts clicking gently as you  turn it.   If it starts clicking, you've reached one end so reverse the direction and keep turning.  It should start controlling the voltage *before* it reaches the other end and starts clicking again.  If it doesn't either you are turning the wrong preset or the module is faulty.