Author Topic: LM393 triggering too soon  (Read 767 times)

Offline JoostdKTopic starter

LM393 triggering too soon
« on: May 30, 2023, 10:26:33 am »
Hi all,

first post so sorry if I mess something up in the post and since I'm a beginner I'm pretty sure I will batter the terminology. For a battery protection circuit I'm dabbing in voltage comparators and I've got some LM393's. Watched some videos online and recreated some of the circuits. They work fine, except for one thing. I dont really know how to say it, but the 'triggering/activation point/threshold' seems 6% (of the supply voltage) above the ref voltage. To clarify:

Supply voltage 10V:  ref voltage 5v  -> LED starts conducting @ 5.6v   => dif 0.6V         = 6% of 10V
Supply voltage 7.5V: ref voltage 3.5 -> LED starts conducting @ 3.9     => dif +-0.4V     = 6% of 7.5V
Supply voltage 5V:    ref voltage 2.5 -> LED starts conducting @ 2.8v   => dif 0.3V         = 6% of 5V

This offset also happens at other ref voltages, all give the same 6% offset relative of the supply voltage. I just gave these since they are simple to compare.

This is the circuit I use, my understanding is that the values of the pots don't matter.

While in theory, this isnt a problem for me as the offset is always the same and I could just set it lower with a potentiometer, I really want to know what is happening here so I can learn. Searched for the answer online, but couldnt find it. Tried 5 different LM393's but all gave the same result. Also tried moving away from the breadboard and soldering the circuit, same result.

Thanks in advance,

Joost.

« Last Edit: May 30, 2023, 10:31:47 am by JoostdK »

Offline srb1954

• Super Contributor
  • Retired Electronics Design Engineer
Re: LM393 triggering too soon
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2023, 12:50:09 pm »