Author Topic: Looking for a analog Oscilloscope. Free please  (Read 9745 times)

Offline IanTopic starter

• Contributor
Looking for a analog Oscilloscope. Free please
« on: May 11, 2010, 11:40:33 am »
Hi
I am looking for a analog Oscilloscope i am a beginner i need a oscilloscope. Any kind i would like it to be free. I live i Harleysville pa. I will pay for shipping.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 03:47:00 pm by Ian »

Online EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Looking for a analog Oscilloscope. Free please
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 11:57:45 am »
LOL!
Shipping usually costs more than one purchased on ebay and picked up.
It also pays to say exactly where you are from.

Please and thanks also goes a long way...

Dave.

Offline thedigitalprincess

• Contributor
  • DERP
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 10:06:09 am »
Try asking trade schools  for one. I'm sure they get rid of them once they upgrade (every 20 or so years!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

A friend of mine found two thrown out on the street. HAHA.
Got done doing 126kmph on the Fed Hwy at Collector but not at Base or Emitter.

Offline rossmoffett

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2010, 06:59:50 am »
Try asking trade schools  for one. I'm sure they get rid of them once they upgrade (every 20 or so years!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Not that easy.  Those are all marked with state property codes and required to go on auction when they're no longer needed.  Then, at the university auction, everything is gathered into pallets so you can only buy 6-12 oscilloscopes at a time.  75% of these will be broken, and it's likely they've been rained on or sitting in the weather for weeks.  Aspiring entrepreneurs hoping to make a buck on eBay bid them up well over 200% of actual value, assuring no one gets a good deal.

Private schools will be different, I'm sure.  This is my experience working in an American university and sorting equipment for auction.
ArcAttack - A group of musical Tesla coil performers with semi-regular blog updates.