Author Topic: Looking for advice on replacing DC blocking input caps on audio preamp  (Read 1005 times)

Offline nezTopic starter

• Contributor
After searching through a variety of audio forums with mixed results (and suffering through a lot of mysticism about capacitors in audio circuits), I thought I'd just ask this here.

I'm in the planning and ordering process to re-cap and repair the power supply for an old computer speaker set I have as a learning project, and I thought I'd consider the preamp module as well.

On the preamp, the only electrolytics are a pair of back-to-back 10uF 25V polar caps on each of the 4 input channels to block DC content.  They likely aren't really bad yet (I haven't removed them from the circuit to check on my DE-5000), but they are 21 years old and not exactly a top brand (G-Luxon) so I figure I may as well throw in some replacements with my Mouser order.

I have little experience with these types of things so I'm wondering what audio aspects I'm ignorant of that may be important.

For polar caps, the originals are about 4 x 7mm in size, with max space for 5 x 8mm (plus a tiny bit extra for lead bending beneath).

I can select various polar caps that fit fine and match the specs fairly well, however I'm wondering about bi-polar caps instead.  I found some 4.7uF bi-polar electrolytics that are 5 x 11 that should fit sideways in the space of each existing pair of polars.

Is there any benefit to switching to bi-polars in this case, or is it really just equivalent to back-to-back polars?

A second uncertainty that I have regards a post I read somewhere else saying that connecting the shared negative node of the two polar caps to the negative rail (through a high-value resistor) to put a charge across them can (1) help the electrolytic caps last longer, and (2) puts them in a more linear range...

It's easy to do, but is this true?  Where can I learn about how much (or little) this actually matters?  Are there negatives to doing it?