Author Topic: Mains Isolation Transformer  (Read 2946 times)

Offline furnacemikeTopic starter

• Chemist & Lab. Metrologist, Electronics Hobbyist
Mains Isolation Transformer
« on: May 16, 2022, 03:03:53 am »
I am kind of new to electronics work, and I am looking for a suggestion for a reasonable priced mains isolation transformer that I can use to safely work on hot equipment for the purpose of troubleshooting. Basically I want peace of mind for safety. I don't need a top of the line model, just something basic for beginners. I'm located in the USA.
Thanks!
Mike

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Mains Isolation Transformer
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2022, 03:56:40 am »
Since the advent of cheap reliable GFCIs (RCDs), in almost all circumstances an isolation transformer *DECREASES* safety for a repair technician, as they prevent upstream or downstream GFCIs tripping if the technician accidentally becomes part of the circuit.

If that's not clear enough, without an isolation transformer, the GFCI in the feed to your bench* will trip if you touch a 'hot' connection.  You'll get a shock, but the GFCI cuts power quickly enough to reduce the risk of death or permanent injury to near zero.   With an isolation transformer, the GFCI cant trip, the shock continues till you die or break free and meanwhile the current is cooking you like a hotdog in a Presto Hotdogger!

Additionally, most people get careless as they *think* it provides protection, which it will do as long as you only make contact with ONE point in the D.U.T (device under test), but that protection vanishes as soon as you make any connection from the D.U.T to anything ground-referenced, (including oscilloscopes,  signal generators, outdoor antennas etc.) so it increases the risk of you getting electrocuted.

There are still uses for an isolation transformer on the test and repair bench, but providing 'SAFETY' is *NOT* one of them.