Author Topic: Math and how to think about constant-current sources?  (Read 1382 times)

Offline ghawkinsTopic starter

Math and how to think about constant-current sources?
« on: August 15, 2021, 01:48:46 pm »
I'm a hobbyist whose background doesn't include anything much more than Kirchhoff's laws and the kind of stuff one covered in high school. I wasn't even aware that there was such a thing as constant-current sources until recently and I'm confused about how to think about them.

Constant-voltage sources have a stated voltage and a maximum current, e.g. 5V and 2A. If my particular circuit consumes less than 2A then this voltage source should be adequate.

1. Are things as simple with constant-current sources? E.g. if I have a  load of LEDs with a forward voltage of 3.3V, that I want to run in series, can I just sum up the voltages and then be confident that things will work if this value falls within the stated voltage range for my constant-current source?

Imagine I have two different types of LED both with a forward voltage of 3.3V but one with a forward current of 350mA and one with a forward current of 700mA. Will a 350mA 24-86VDC constant-current source support the same maximum number of 700mA LEDs as 350mA LEDs (with the 700mA LEDs obviously running dimmer than they could)? I.e. is it really as simple as just considering the forward voltages or does the forward current of the devices also come into play in my calculations of how many LEDs (or whatever) I can use with a given source?

2. Constant-voltage sources are rated for a maximum current, e.g. 2A. But no one states a minimum current (at least with the devices I've used), I assume they can support from ~0A to e.g. 2A.

Constant-current sources however always seem to have a minimum rated value as well as a maximum, e.g. 24-86VDC.