Author Topic: MicroController progrmaming books  (Read 815 times)

Offline netmonkTopic starter

• Contributor
MicroController progrmaming books
« on: May 31, 2020, 08:36:41 am »
Hello,

Im an fresh MCU programmer, since one year, who started with arduino like i guess most of the hobbyist around.
I played with teensy,and since few months, i become really fond of esp32 and i start to discover riscV mcu.

it happens that now, i feel that arduino sketch are not so much adapted to my needs, and given my next project expectation i need to go deeper into mcu C programming and algorithmic. Im expecting to receive a little black box, and start to use JTAG too.

What im looking at is a book describing general concept of MCU programming (io/scheduling) and no so much tied to a specific platform. How to design and architect your code, given all specifics of MCU.

Should i use RTOS to build my application on top of it, or should i go pure baremetal, and in this case what are the minimum requirements...

I looked on amazon and oreilly, seems most of books are specific to stm32/arm ecosystem. which could lead to some misleading when trying to transpose for esp32 or riscV.
So im looking for suggestion about more general books which are going in depth into this kind of topic explaining good practices and most used algorithms for programming MCU.

May be it doesn't really exist, may be blog/website could be a better source of information. Im really asking to experimented programmers around what was their sources for building their knowledges.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: MicroController progrmaming books
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2020, 04:12:20 pm »
I don't know of any particular book that can help.

What I have noticed is that the ARM chips are getting ever more complex with multiple cores (usually of a different type) and increasing horsepower.  Even the Teensy 4.1 is now up to a 600 MHz chip and a User Manual that is a concise 3637 pages.