Author Topic: MOSFET linear regulator circuit  (Read 68642 times)

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
Re: MOSFET linear regulator circuit
« Reply #25 on: November 25, 2016, 09:25:22 am »
The transient analysis clearly shows your circuit oscillates.
It's not surprising that circuit oscillates. It uses the OP37 which is not unity gain stable.

Before trying anything else, try changing the op-amp to something which is unity gain stable, such as the OP27.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2016, 09:41:29 am by Hero999 »

Offline void_error

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #26 on: November 25, 2016, 11:24:27 am »
Or try something with rail-to-rail inputs and output so there's no worry about input voltage range or output voltage swing. LT has a few parts that go up to 36V supply which are reasonably fast like the LT1630 or LT1678 which have around 150uV offset.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline VEGETATopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am the cult of personality
    • Thundertronics
« Reply #27 on: November 25, 2016, 11:01:19 pm »
Well, I tried different op-amps and there was some difference in performance indeed. Originally I wanted to pick a cheap one like lm358 and use it for all the design because a good op-amp will be around let's say 5$ or maybe 3$.

I've seen the EEZ-Supply design using an NPN transistor to switch the mosfet which I tried in my earlier circuits (and it ended oscillations at the time) but I could not understand why they put a reverse-biased diode (BAS316) in the output of both CV op-amp and CC op-amp like the image here:

and they are using a 2.2k resistor from the output of the regulator directly to the gate which made me think it has to do with oscillation but I really couldn't figure out why (maybe I am wrong). The circuit after these 2 op-amps reaching the npn is not understandable to me.