Author Topic: Function Generator Amplitude vs. Scope Amplitude  (Read 7008 times)

Offline phellerTopic starter

Function Generator Amplitude vs. Scope Amplitude
« on: October 30, 2010, 06:23:41 pm »
Greetings,

I am a beginner, with a a Rigol DS1102D and a Rigol DG1022A.

Anyways, I'm just learning the two pieces of gear, and I'm stumped by something.

I set channel 1 of the Function Generator to output a 1khz Sine Wave at 1Vpp, no offset.  I connect directly to channel one of the scope with straight bnc-bnc coax.  Channel 1 is set for 1x.  I successfully get a stable waveform on the screen, but the scope measures 2Vpp.

Am I missing something here?

Regards,

Phil

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Function Generator Amplitude vs. Scope Amplitude
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 06:37:00 pm »
are you sure that the probe attenuation is set up right, you need to select the attenuation on the probe itself and then tell the scope what attenuation the probe has, it sounds like a case where you have 10X on the probe and the scope set to 20X (the scope has settings for 1X 5X 10X 20X 50X 100X 1000X)

Offline jimmc

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 06:43:59 pm »
I'm not familiar with the Rigol kit but it sounds as if the generator is calibrated for pd.

ie It has an emf of 2v p-p and an output resistance of 50 ohm, thus it will deliver 1vp-p into a 50 ohm load and 2vp-p into an open circuit (or the 1 Megohm of the 'scope).
Connect a 50 ohm resistor across the input of the 'scope and the voltage will drop to 1v p-p.

There is probably a option to select emf rather than pd somewhere in the generators menu.

Jim

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2010, 06:44:24 pm »