Author Topic: Multimeter comparo  (Read 3167 times)

Offline KevinmatthTopic starter

Multimeter comparo
« on: September 02, 2023, 03:37:04 pm »
Will someone look at these two meters and tell me which one is a better meter in general. Does the ideal have better capacitance range? Im pretty new at this. Thank you for your help. Two meters are the Ideal 61-757 and the Kaiweets HT208D. I attached the user manuals and screen shots of the specs of it makes it easier.

Re: Multimeter comparo
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2023, 03:38:21 pm »
The kaiweets ht208d manual is too large to upload.

Offline Veteran68

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2023, 03:55:52 pm »
What do you intend to do with the meter? Since these are both clamp meters, I'm assuming you intend to use it more for household mains electrical work than for low voltage electronics work.

For simple household mains work, either are probably fine. The Kaiweets has slightly better AC voltage accuracy but then again someone making AC measurements with budget meters is typically not concerned with absolute accuracy, so that 0.2% higher accuracy is probably not important to you. The NCV feature on the HT208D is incredibly sensitive, so much so as to be practically useless for anything beyond "something in the general area around me is probably live." The Ideal may have better transient protection, since as I recall the Kaiweets has very little protection, but I don't know that for sure. That's not something you normally see written up in the manual specs.