Author Topic: My deluxe Island Cutter :-)  (Read 4884 times)

Offline ChrisLX200Topic starter

• Supporter
My deluxe Island Cutter :-)
« on: September 16, 2017, 11:06:44 pm »
Okay, I'm new to this stuff, but I saw a useful technique on YouTube regarding how to make up small PCBs using the 'Island' (or Manhattan) technique. Using a small cutter of sorts with a plain copper-clad board to create small isolated pad to solder to. Great! But um, where to get a suitable cutter? I saw diamond impregnated hole-saw type things described which didn't really sound suitable to me, so I decided to make my own. I'm more engineer than electrician anyways :-)

For a first attempt I used a piece of 3/8" dia round tool steel (low-carbon Silver Steel) and drilled a 5mm hole in one end and turned the outside to some rough diameter which would create what I thought would be a suitable sized 'moat'. I cut the teeth off-hand (I didn't use any indexing tools, just done by eye), the cutter was a dovetail cutter mounted in my mill and the workpiece only roughly aligned to produce cuts in the end of the tool which would produce relief angles to the cutting edges. This was a 10min job only :-) Then I hardened the steel right out (heat to cherry red and drop into cold water) - no need for tempering.
Well the cutter worked and produced nice round pads (photo).