Author Topic: My first scope is arriving but my home (old) doesn't have mains grounding  (Read 4376 times)

Offline FergoTopic starter

I am not an engineer but I am an electrician. Some people have weird ideas in this thread. An RCD or GFCI is a very good idea since if current that flows out through L1 and doesn't return on L2 wil cause it to trip. This is the danger with having no group d at the out let since you can become a path to ground just by touching the metal enclosure of the device. The danger in not having a grounding means at your outlet is that you could have damage or a fault in your device or dut and energize something that shouldn't be, if supplied from a grounded outlet this would cause your breaker or fuse to trip and deenergize the circuit. Since you don't have that the next best thing is to detect when current is flowing outside of the intended circuit and deenergize at that point. This is what an RCD/GFCI will do.

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

Thanks!
But from what I've read in other replies, you do need a ground wire at least in the distribution box for the RCD do work. I don't have that :(

One way or another. I couldn't be happier. The scope arrived and I've been playing and getting used to it almost non stop on my free time:

It's so cool (and yes, the Arduino is connected to my laptop running on batteries). Definitely worth it's price, considering I managed to get it new with almost 50% off.

KR,
Fergo

The following users thanked this post: ogden, Electro Detective

Offline Electro Detective

• Super Contributor