Author Topic: Mysterious black insulation stuff?  (Read 1198 times)

Offline FordTopic starter

Mysterious black insulation stuff?
« on: October 27, 2020, 03:43:03 am »
Hi,

I'm an undergrad who came into posession of some large power electronics things. Upon investigation I noticed two of these things are absolutely filled with this hard black rubbery stuff. I think it's insulation, brittle due to age, but I'm not sure. I'd like to remove it so I can get a better look at the parts inside these devices and I'd also like to know if what I'm looking at is actually some sort of old rubber insulation. I've elected not to mess with any of it further in case it's some sort of dangerous material containing asbestos and what not (I've been told these devices are quite old).

Any information on what it is would be helpful, as I can't find anything about it (or pictures) online by searching along the lines of "transformer black electrical insulation" or "power electronics rubber insulation" etc. If anyone has an advice on how to remove it I'd be glad to get that too. I don't care to save or reuse the devices, so destructive methods are acceptable.

Here are pictures of the mystery stuff: https://imgur.com/a/hzTQPSS

Thanks and I'm glad to join the forums.

Online Shock

• Super Contributor
Re: Mysterious black insulation stuff?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2020, 04:30:32 am »
It's called Potting Compound.
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 189, 87V, 117, 112   >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314

Offline helius

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2020, 04:44:57 am »
The common encapsulants (potting compounds) are silicone, epoxy, and urethane. Removing them is a messy process but it is possible.
There was a video linked several years ago here about decapsulating a power transformer, I wonder if I can find the link...

Offline gcewing

• Regular Contributor