Author Topic: Need help finding replacement part (SW4506AP, I think)  (Read 1636 times)

Offline vinaduroTopic starter

• Contributor
Need help finding replacement part (SW4506AP, I think)
« on: September 11, 2017, 05:25:32 pm »
Hi there,

I'm new to the forums, but I've been a great fan of Dave's YouTube channel for a couple of years now. Although I did do some electronics back in school, and have tinkered with the odd project, I am basically a complete newbie when it comes to electronics, so please forgive me if my question is stupid.

Background (you can skip this part if you like):
The wife and I bought an automatic pet feeder from what Americans would call a Thrift Store. We bought it for the equivalent of ~$6. Now I knew that it likely wouldn't be working, but figured I could use the bin and motor hooked up to a raspberry pi, to control the feeder. I eventually got around to plugging it in, and the motor just turns, but the front display does not come on. So I decided to open it up, and take a quick look (yes, I know I should have taken it apart before turning it on  :P ). Inside, I found an IC that has clearly let the magic smoke escape.

The Problem:
I have Googled the heck out of what I think is the part number, but I can't seem to find anything useful. I have attached the best photo I could take with my phone (the best photographic device available to me). I live in South Africa, so I want to try and source the part locally, but searching the local suppliers's websites, also yielded no results. I'm hoping one of you could possibly help, by giving me an alternate part that I can search for, or ask my local suppliers for.

Please let me know if you need (or want) more details or photos.

Kind regards,
Vin
« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 06:17:27 pm by vinaduro »

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Need help finding replacement part (SW4506AP, I think)
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 06:29:33 pm »