Author Topic: Need help with battery polarity protection circuit  (Read 1584 times)

Offline zaphod5Topic starter

• Contributor
Need help with battery polarity protection circuit
« on: April 21, 2021, 04:01:13 am »
Hi eevbloggers, I have a battery (2x AA, approx 2.6V - 3V) protection circuit that uses an N-mosfet (AO3402) that works well. Now that only one battery is being used, the mosfet gate voltage (0.8V - 1.5V) is not enough to turn on the AO3402. I'm a noob with this part selection and unsure when browsing Mouser. The circuit draws a maximum of 80ma, and spends most of its time asleep. Any suggestions for a replacement part? Thanks in advance for any help.

Offline Algoma

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Need help with battery polarity protection circuit
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2021, 04:30:58 am »
There exists dedicated protection ICs, generally a MOSFET with a bit of monitoring built in that can shut down a circuit if things are outside of configured safety levels.
Over Voltage, under voltage, reverse voltage, over current.. etc. Some are as simple as a 3 pin and an external resistor or two.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2021, 04:35:01 am »
Thanks for your reply. I was hoping to get by with a simple mosfet, as I'm doing now. Only polarity protection is needed.

Offline Algoma

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2021, 04:44:57 am »
To establish, the existing part is 30v rated at 4A in a SOT23-3L package. Data sheet shows it takes minimum of 2.5v to fully turn on..

What would be the minimum voltage the rest of the circuit shuts down, so the mostfet isn't starting to turn off before everything else is.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2021, 04:55:35 am by Algoma »

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2021, 05:01:13 am »
The minimum battery voltage is 0.8V, typical is 1.5V. The battery feeds a DC-DC boost converter where the rest of the circuit operates at 3V. Previously I just used the two batteries, no boost converter needed.

Offline Algoma