Author Topic: Newbie PCB production  (Read 5337 times)

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
Re: Newbie PCB production
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2020, 01:07:47 pm »
Adobe Photoshop will help you out  :)
Talk about suggesting the wrong tool for the job...
Plus,  I shouldn’t have to ask the IT department to license an expensive software package to print a mirror image.

Do you often need to perform mirror printing?
If not, then free on-line photoshop will help you or any other graphic program.
If often, it may be cheaper and easier to buy a local inexpensive printer.
I appreciate you trying to be helpful, but it was just a rant on my part, not a request for help. :p I’m a computer professional myself.

Luckily, the main thing I ever need to print in mirror image (even on Windows) is PCBs, and both of the layout programs I use (EasyEDA and Altium) know how to do that themselves.

Why do you print mirror images? Do you use thermal transfer of toner to make PCB? Having noticed by contacting the IT Department, this is not a personal hobby for you. Why do you manufacture the PCB yourself?
Yes, toner transfer (the topic of the entire discussion I was replying to).

Electronics is both a hobby and my job. At home, I often need just a single board. At work, it'd sometimes be handy to be able to make a simple PCB quickly. (Plus, it's just fun to do on occasion!) In this particular instance, I also want to explore using toner transfer for making front panels and nameplates, both using toner as "silkscreen", but also as resist to try etching aluminum. Other than that, we order PCBs from China.

I wonder how much it costs to make 2 sides of a PCB in Canada?
I wouldn't know. I've only ever been to Canada once, and that was on holiday.

Much more expensive than in China?
Probably. Few places are cheaper than China!