Author Topic: Newly purchased OWON VDS 1022i - probe question  (Read 1241 times)

Offline _jryanTopic starter

Newly purchased OWON VDS 1022i - probe question
« on: August 16, 2019, 09:23:39 pm »
Hello everyone,

Though this is my first post I've lurked here and on the eevblog YT channel for some time. I recently purchased my first scope and was hoping I could get a little advice - I'm a complete oscilloscope noob, and have only dabbled with building circuits. Mostly, I write software.

I have a pet project building digital cinema cameras using machine vision modules and I need to build an electronic trigger / exposure controller that will connect to the camera's GPIO. I could easily mess up my camera (it's a 24v PLC which will work with 5v TTL) so I wanted to validate the controller output with a scope and dmm before connecting it to the camera proper.

After much research here and elsewhere I chose the OWON VDS 1022i.

Long story short, I was expecting a particular probe model but got something different. Though it's not really stated officially anywhere I was expecting the P2060 probes but instead received the P7060 probes. My belief these are inferior from the bits and pieces I could glean. Before purchasing I even asked the seller and they said they didn't know specifically the probe model but the photo shows the model I'll receive (it shows the P2060).

My questions - Are the P7060's in fact inferior to the P2060's? General quality and that sort of thing. Would it be worthwhile to wait on the seller to replace the probes, refund and re-purchase elsewhere, etc, or are the probes equally adequate and there would be no real functional difference between the two.