Author Topic: Nixie clock -- and other questions  (Read 1676 times)

Offline ophelloTopic starter

Nixie clock -- and other questions
« on: November 28, 2016, 09:48:05 pm »
Hi EEVbloggers,

I'm a newbie to electronics, but a long-time fan of Dave's videos. I watch them even though I have no idea what most of the components are or how they work. But I do love teardowns, so it satisfies that need for me.

I've become obsessed with the idea of making a Nixie clock, but the kind of clock I want does not really exist, nor can I find plans for one...at least, not with the physical features I want.

I don't really know where to begin on this journey of 1000 miles, so I thought I would start by asking some basic questions about my options, which are (I think) as follows:

1. Find a nixie clock kit and hack it to work the way I want using a painstaking process of trial and error
2. Hire someone to work with me in designing a circuit and PCB for me according to my specs and give me instructions on how to solder it
3. Learn all about the electronics from the ground up and basically start a new career in electronics engineering, and make this clock myself from scratch.

Option 3 is, frankly, off the table. Option 1 seems overly daunting, since I don't have the equipment, space, or time to devote to the electronics part (the case, however, is totally within my control).

So, I feel like I'm only left with one option: hire someone who knows what they're doing, get the parts, and be in charge of programming functions and performing final assembly.

Which brings me to another question: how much would that cost? I'm guessing the answer is "it depends!" which I am totally fine with. But I would at least like to get some basic ballpark figure in mind (or maybe someone is interested in doing this pro-bono, with the promise of their very own clock in the end). I do have a very specific list of features and physical requirements for this clock design, which I will share below.