Author Topic: Noob here - Modifying an attenuator  (Read 2359 times)

Offline CactusTopic starter

• Contributor
Noob here - Modifying an attenuator
« on: February 04, 2017, 02:44:04 pm »
Hi, I'm almost a complete novice at this electronics game but increasingly my interests seem to be drawing me into this mysterious world. My first project I thought I was jumping in at the deep end with was building a fuel injection ecu from a kit. It was a success but really all it proved was I could use a DMM and stick hundreds of components on to a board. I went on to build a chip amp and to repair my mates tv thanks to the university of youtube. All successful but it is really just a case of monkey see monkey do. I don't really understand it. One of my next projects will be to repair my AV amp. I have lost the front left speaker output signal for some reason. I have an old crt oscilloscope and a usb scope that i play around with and it is the scopes that i am trying to get to grips with at the moment. And so the learning curve continues

Ok thats for the background, now the question:

I have a couple of 20:1 hantek ht201 attenuators for use with my scope when looking at signals from vehicles, but I would like them to be 10:1. Tearing one down I can see a small board with some caps and a couple of resistors. If i can post a pic I will. Can I make this into a 10:1 attenuator simply by removing the resistors and replacing them with resistors half their respective values.

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: Noob here - Modifying an attenuator
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2017, 03:00:07 pm »
To change to approximately 1:10 one would have to change the resistor to twice the value and the capacitor to half the value. The resistor part is reasonably easy, but the capacitor part could be tricky finding the right value.

The following users thanked this post: Cactus

Offline w2aew

• Super Contributor
  • I usTa cuDnt speL enjinere, noW I aR wuN
    • My YouTube Channel