Author Topic: Noob lookin' to get smarter  (Read 3992 times)

Offline cjdubeaTopic starter

Noob lookin' to get smarter
« on: December 14, 2016, 06:14:00 pm »
Hi all,

First time post.  Neat forum.

Casual spelunking around the forum for what I'm looking for has not been fruitful, so I'll ask it here:

I'm a self employed electro-mechanical engineer working in the underwater robotics (think ROV) industry for longer than I care to admit. I've got a bachelors and masters in Mechanical Engineering and took about a dozen electrical/electronics engineering courses some 20 odd years ago which at the time were leading to a Phd in Electrical Engineering.  Unfortunately, life got in the way and the job was not completed  :(.

I'm at a juncture in my life where slowing down in my current activities (similar to retirement, but less official :)) is on the horizon and I'm thinking about the next chapter in my life.

I've come back to electronics.  Over the years I've obtained a "goodly" amount of OTJ electronics knowledge but I would like to take that a bit further.

Toward that end, I've currently got a weeks time allocated next year to enhancing my electronics skills. I'm looking for an in person classroom/hands on deep dive into the wild world of mosfets, j-fets, zener diodes, resistors, capacitors, etc.

I've fairly flexible about the where and when (within the continental US), and while cost is a concern, I've got a funds cached for this purpose.

Casual Googling around the innerwebs has not provide the guiding light. Any ideas?

My apologies if this has been answered before. 

cheers,

chris
Chris

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Noob lookin' to get smarter
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2016, 08:58:08 pm »
Well, you certainly have the math skills required for electronics.  First and second semester calculus come in real handy and differential equations show up with Control Systems.