Author Topic: Oscilloscope advice  (Read 1713 times)

Offline deSales327Topic starter

Oscilloscope advice
« on: June 02, 2020, 07:47:48 pm »
Hello everyone, new guy here!
Hope everything is well with you in this complicated times.
I've been looking for a cheap (sub 150$) decent scope for some time now but I don't know what I should look for.
Two scopes that have been on my radar - one got on it yesterday ahahah - are the Hantek6022BL and the FNIRSI-1013D.
It's not for work, it's just for some playing around with oscillators, amp-ops and... Watching waves (yup that's me).
I do know my way around a scope so I'm not a total noob... But I am a noob.
What are your opinions about the scopes I mentioned? Do you perhaps know of others I should look for?

Thank you very much for the attention and have a good day!

Offline tunk

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Oscilloscope advice
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2020, 08:15:00 pm »
The Hantek 2000 series (e.g. 2C42) could possibly also be an alternative.

The following users thanked this post: deSales327

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2020, 08:23:36 pm »
I would recommend the Owon VDS1022I (galvanically isolated version) over the Hantek 6022BL that you mentioned. It's a much better scope, and the Hantek logic analyser capability can be mostly replaced by an ebay $10 24MHz Logic Analyser clone and open-source Sigrok Pulseview s/w (it sounds as if you're not really interested in LAs at the moment anyway).

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/owon-vds1022i-quick-teardown-(versus-the-hantek-6022be)/

P.S. Welcome to the forum.  :)
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 08:30:45 pm by Gyro »
Best Regards, Chris

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2020, 01:45:13 am »
I got lost in the thread you created ahahah. It seems like you guys have been developing the software for five years now, is that right?