Author Topic: Oscilloscope & AWG connection problem  (Read 1121 times)

Offline dalpetsTopic starter

• Contributor
Oscilloscope & AWG connection problem
« on: March 10, 2024, 02:11:15 am »
As a total beginner I have been trying to get the same results shown in the below Youtube video.

My equipment is Siglent oscilloscope SDS 1102CML (100MHz, 1 GSa/s) & Siglent AWG SDG 1020 (20Mhz, 125 MSa/s).

The video is entitled “An introduction, oscilloscopes and function generators by Controls and Instrumentation Lab” @

Using the connections shown in the video @ 9:15-11.40 & 11.43-15.30 I get NO waveform response from the oscilloscope corresponding to numerous attempts to configure the connected AWG.

It seems that that the oscilloscope does not see the AWG at all.

What might I be doing wrong here?

Thanks

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
Re: Oscilloscope & AWG connection problem
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2024, 05:42:49 pm »
There are two major starting points here: Is the scope working? And is the AWG outputting anything? It’ll be harder to diagnose the second if the first isn’t proven.

For the first question: Can you see a signal using your scope’s probe compensation lug?
If so: is the AWG’s output actually turned on? Is it a frequency your scope can see? How are you triggering the scope? Etc.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2024, 06:51:33 pm »
I get a square waveform with the compensation  lug.

The generator setting are as follows;
channel 1
square waveform
frequency 257hz
amplitude 7.00Vpp
phase 0.0 degrees
offset -8.0mVdc
duty 50.0%

The oscilloscope;
channel 1
probe 10x
trigger edge
mode auto
ch1 5.00mA
M 5.0ms
CH1 edge 3.00mA
DC coupling
Volts/Div Fine
f=400KHz
Mpos:600.0ys

The remaining issues that I have are;
oscilloscope only displays a jagged sine waveform whereas the generator is set to square wave.
generator displays one frequency value but oscilloscope displays a completely different value.