Author Topic: Oscilloscope probe from a different manufacturer - what specs to look for?  (Read 771 times)

Offline robomanTopic starter

Hello, this question has been asked before but in a different way. I plan to replace my SIGLENT 200MHZ passive probes with a better quality one, but I need to know what the specs mean and how I choose one that will work without hooking it in.

My scope is rated at 1Mohms and 18pf. I am a complete noob in this and not from an electronics major background, so I am a bit hesitant to buy something and later realize it does not work. This is what I have so far.

From Rohde & Schwarz
"
Passive probes have no active components and therefore can operate without power from the scope. They are extremely common, and a set of passive probes is usually included with every oscilloscope. In fact, passive probes are often interchangeable between scopes, even with scopes from different manufacturers, although they will have different performance and other characteristics.
"

From a post on Reddit
"
That scope will work fine with most normal probes. Just make sure the scope's input capacitance is within the compensation range for the probes.
"

If I understand correctly, as long as I get the probe within the compensation range and frequency, the input resistance will not matter. If that is true, then can I interchange the following two?
https://siglentna.com/product/pp215-200-mhz-oscilloscope-probe/

I work primarily with low-voltage DC circuits.

Thanks a lot.

« Last Edit: February 15, 2024, 02:20:09 pm by roboman »

Offline jonpaul

• Super Contributor
Re: Oscilloscope probe from a different manufacturer - what specs to look for?
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2024, 04:34:55 pm »
quality probes Tektronix

Others are poor design, delicate of Chinese junk\

j
Jean-Paul  the Internet Dinosaur

« Last Edit: February 15, 2024, 05:57:31 pm by roboman »

Offline inse

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2024, 06:01:39 pm »
Redundant