Author Topic: P-Ch E MOSFET replacement  (Read 577 times)

Offline trondlTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
P-Ch E MOSFET replacement
« on: September 07, 2023, 10:14:19 am »
Hi!
I'm a noob when it comes to finding transistor equivalents / replacements.
We have a light fixture where the Gobo (effects) card has two shorted transistors:
One NPN ZXTN2010 where I found the exact same and a MOSFET ZXMP6A16.
I only found a ZXMP6A18 available.
The CAN bus communicating circuit is used to control some "smaller" step motors and reading optical sensors with an on board MCU.

Is the ZXMP6A18 just a newer beefier version of ZXMP6A16 and is in this case a drop in replacement?
Datasheets included.

Thanks in advance!

Offline DavidAlfa

• Super Contributor
Re: P-Ch E MOSFET replacement
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2023, 11:05:45 am »
It's slighly slower and has higher capacitance, but will probably work just fine.
Do you know what these fets do in the circuit?
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2023, 01:01:17 pm »
There is only one of them on this PCB, and the PCB is referred to as "Motor driver low power".
It is controlling 8 step motors through DRV8844 drivers, 8 sensors, CAN bus and 2 blower fans of smaller size.
The board is fed 24V DC, and it has very low resistance from the +24V to the Sink pin.

Should the capacitance cause concern?

Offline DavidAlfa

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2023, 01:07:15 pm »
Only if switching at very high speeds, which doesn't seem the case.
I'd try them right away.
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate

The following users thanked this post: trondl

Offline CaptDon

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2023, 01:10:09 pm »