Author Topic: Patent Office welcoming Independent Inventors & Entrepreneurs !  (Read 950 times)

Offline RJSVTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Hello:
   I'm not a lawyer, so cannot give 'legal' advice, but here you can read about my impression.  Any questions, you can post it here, regarding non-legal accounts.  My experience has been very good.
   About 25 years ago, the USPTO started the 'PAIR' system, enabling folks to go on-line with searches and other questions about the whole process.
   A SEARCH is what a lot of people wish to do.  Suppose for example, you've invented a Portable Shower, usually for camping but also in special outdoor situations, like Rock Climbers.
To start, go to WEB site. That's at:
   USPTO.gov
There, you can go to 'Patent Search', that's existing, already issued works.
   For newer material, you would want 'Search Applications', typically published during approval process.
   The web site offers some training videos, for learning how to utilize those two types of search databases.
My most difficult time, was getting used to grouping my terms, in quotes.
  Like this:.     "Pocket Shower"
The upper case or lower case lettering does not matter.  Searching on "Portable Shower" gave me this result:.   US 20190183293
THAT, means it's published, (at least), and was cleared to publish, in 2019, (in United States system).
My (non-legal) sense, is that very roughly, it takes 2 to 4 years, for any full completion resulting in Grant, of your work submitted.
I also utilize the free public search facilities, for simple survey.  Who else, is creating novel material, that might compete with your stuff.
   Not an Inventor?  There is a section, in the USPTO, for Entrepreneurs as well.  (Maybe you are looking at funding portable shower as a product).
By the way; USPTO means Patent and Trademarks.
I don't have any experience regarding Trademarks, but guess that it's a faster process.