Author Topic: Photon Proto Shield  (Read 2625 times)

Offline FunkyJunkyTopic starter

Photon Proto Shield
« on: September 01, 2015, 02:47:02 pm »
Hi guys,

First of all, just want to say I am a big fan of the EEVblog and Dave's videos, despite me 99% of the time not having a clue what he is talking about. I am by no means an electrical engineer (I am a mobile app developer by trade) and my knowledge of the subject is pretty much limited to what they taught me at school when I was 10 and some of the things Dave has discussed in his videos.

Looking at the calibre of the 'newbie questions' here, I think I may win the prize for 'easiest question of the day' - So please bare with, this is going to be trivial for you all but is genuinely confusing for me.

I have been developing with a Particle Photon micro-controller. Through the use of a breadboard, I have created the world's simplest circuit - basically a push button that the micro-controller can determine has been pressed or not. Nothing ground breaking there.

What I really want to do is move this from a breadboard and using some shields have a battery attached and provide the same functionality.

I am acutely aware that my diagram is 1000% wrong (for a start, I forgot what a button is in a diagram so used a switch instead).

I have uploaded an album (http://imgur.com/a/MAYJ8) showing the components I have bought that I believed can be used to move from a breadboard to a more compact design. I have already 'attached' the button to the shield but I am 99% sure it wont work as I expect because I am not entirely how the traces work.

If anyone has some advice or pointers, that would be great. Unfortunately this is actually part of my work at the moment...which is odd because I don't remember telling them I knew anything about electronics!

Thanks guys

Offline Hideki

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Photon Proto Shield
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2015, 08:35:45 pm »
What exactly was the question? :)