Author Topic: probes x1 or x10  (Read 6729 times)

Offline Adrian_Arg.Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
probes x1 or x10
« on: March 02, 2018, 02:07:30 pm »
hello, I have a rigol ds1054z, my first oscilloscope, and I am using it with arduino and small projects, I have many doubts, but one that appeared to me now is, the probes of it when working with voltages lower than 24 volts, it is necessary to place the probe in X10 of attenuation or is better to use it in X1.

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: probes x1 or x10
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2018, 02:12:09 pm »
Most of the time it is better to set it to 10X as the load on the tested circuit will be 10Mohms, compared to 1Mohms on 1X setting.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2018, 02:15:39 pm »
ok, and at what time it is better to use them in X1, I thought that working with low voltages was better to use them in X1.

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2018, 02:24:35 pm »
It's not about voltage (well, until you blow your scope input by overloading it on X1  ::)), it's about loading on your circuit....

On the X1 setting, the circuit sees the whole capacitance of the scope coax lead (100pF or more), as well as the 1Meg input impedance of the scope. The capacitance is so high that it is not realistic to use it for medium to high frequencies.

On X10, the signal is attenuated but the capacitive loading is also reduced by a similar ratio and the resistive loading increased to 10Meg.
Best Regards, Chris

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2018, 02:29:41 pm »
thanks for your time and the answer ;)

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

Offline plazma

• Frequent Contributor
    • Homepage