Author Topic: Professional Lab Requirements?  (Read 3033 times)

Offline DemzTopic starter

Professional Lab Requirements?
« on: June 29, 2022, 06:45:18 am »
Hi!

I am a fresh graduate with electrical and instrument engineering degree.
recently, I got hired as a Technical Laboratory staff in a company focusing on banking equipment and basically any machine related to counting and sorting money.

Funny thing is, this division is still new, and sadly this fresh graduate guy with close to zero experience is the very first employee in this division.

Since the division is still new, I got appointed to choose any tools and equipment which will be used in the lab. Sounds exciting but the problem is, the only electrical lab I've ever been to was my university's lab, which using mid-end if not low-end equipment while my boss demanding a high-end equipment to be in our new lab. And.... those kinds of products are not yet listed in my book.

So, our new lab would be doing something like :
  • PCB Troubleshooting and PCB repairing
  • Component quality testing (to test the quality of a components like resistor, diode, etc)
  • Component durability testing

I need a recommendation about what equipment do I need, and which product/brand you guys think are the best.(it's okay if the product is expensive)

Thanks for any of you who are willing to help.
Have a good day!

Re: Professional Lab Requirements?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2022, 07:02:26 am »
to put more information : I have made my equipment list such as Variable DC power supply, Oscilloscope, AFG, etc. but i have no idea which brands or products are considered "the best."

Offline Berni

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2022, 07:11:14 am »
Well looks like they employed the wrong person for the job. This is indeed something that should be done by someone with experience.