Author Topic: Providing too much V and I ( current? )  (Read 423 times)

Offline HextejasTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Providing too much V and I ( current? )
« on: February 08, 2024, 07:37:55 am »
Total newbie so please be nice.
The issue came up when I was asked to furnish a 8V power supply to charge a car vacuum.
I didn't have one, I had a 12, 14, 22, etc., so I answered no. and that made me endlessly curious .
I was hoping that the circuit could handle any range of voltages and/or currents and would only draw what was needed,
I know that cant be correct but i don't know why.
Would someone please point me in the right direction ?

Forever grateful.
George

Offline brucehoult

• Super Contributor
Re: Providing too much V and I ( current? )
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2024, 07:50:15 am »
If the voltage is correct then there's no such thing as "supplying" too much current, only too little.

The DUT will use the current it needs. If it needs more than your power supply is built to deliver then either the PS will start to output a lower voltage, or it will blow up (0V is also a lower voltage)

If you supply too much voltage then a DUT with simple design (e.g. purely resistive load) will take more current in the same proportion. e.g. if you give 12V instead of 8V then it may also take 1.5x more current than normal, which multiplied together means 2.25x more power consumption and heat in the device. Some might handle this, many will fail.

Pure excess voltage can also destroy some devices, even at low current.

And of course some smarter devices will have their own active voltage regulation and/or current limiting and work just fine.

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2024, 08:09:56 am »
If the voltage is correct then there's no such thing as "supplying" too much current, only too little.

The DUT will use the current it needs.