Author Topic: Question storage batteries  (Read 3967 times)

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
Re: Question storage batteries
« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2022, 08:48:43 am »
The curve is flat enough that estimating the State of Charge based on voltage is challenging.  Basically, the open circuit voltage of a Lithium Ion battery is not a very precise indicator of the SoC.

I don't know, I do this for a living and for me, it has never been challenging, but works well and is simple.

Of course, the indication jumps around a bit with load changes.

Coulomb counting is more challenging to get right, but nowadays it usually works well (in laptops etc.) During the first decade or so, problems with severely jumping indications were usual.

Offline SilverSolder

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2022, 01:04:45 pm »
The curve is flat enough that estimating the State of Charge based on voltage is challenging.  Basically, the open circuit voltage of a Lithium Ion battery is not a very precise indicator of the SoC.

I don't know, I do this for a living and for me, it has never been challenging, but works well and is simple.

Coulomb counting is more challenging to get right, but nowadays it usually works well (in laptops etc.) During the first decade or so, problems with severely jumping indications were usual.

What you say is interesting - the voltage can be "good enough for Australia" to estimate the charge level?   

What happens as the battery ages and the cycle count begins to rack up, and it begins to lose capacity - surely you must lose a lot of accuracy as time goes?

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2022, 05:29:14 pm »

What you say is interesting - the voltage can be "good enough for Australia" to estimate the charge level?   

What happens as the battery ages and the cycle count begins to rack up, and it begins to lose capacity - surely you must lose a lot of accuracy as time goes?