Electronics > Beginners

Re-routing a career

(1/3) > >>

McPete:
G'day all,

I've asked questions about career paths before, but here, but I'm back again :P

I had a lot more here, but I've trimmed it off in the interests of sparing you all a rant.

Here's the situation; I'm a third year apprentice. I work in a predominantly electrical/electronic calibration, service and repair workshop for a public-sector power transmission utility. I'm not sure how much of a future is in this work.
The trade I'm enlisted in (and have been studying for the last two and a half years) is a process control qualification that is mostly irrelevant to my work and my interests...
I've had to chase down secondments to get any chance of having that qualification recognised, as our workshop has NO involvement in process control- While the HR/Training people have been very supportive, I can't really say the same of my supervisor. Next year, when my trade course ends, I want to start some sort of electronics engineering studies.

I suppose my first question then would be; What's the path that makes most sense for me to get into the electronics industry?

Thankyou in advance!

EEVblog:

--- Quote from: McPete on September 23, 2010, 07:16:40 am ---I suppose my first question then would be; What's the path that makes most sense for me to get into the electronics industry?

--- End quote ---

There are lots of variables in this, including your country, age, financial status, family and living status, desire to study etc.

If you have the money, time, and financial means, then obviously an engineering degree should be under consideration.

At a minimum I'd suggest you consider an "associates degree". The name varies a lot from country to country, but is generally a 2 or 3 year course (full time, longer part time) that essentially gets steps you up from the technician/trade level industry and into the professional or paraprofessional level of the electronics industry.