Author Topic: Reconstructing a waveform from its harmonics.  (Read 19503 times)

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Reconstructing a waveform from its harmonics.
« Reply #100 on: March 16, 2018, 05:04:34 pm »
Congratulations!

I have used Fourier Analysis exactly once since I graduated in '73.  I was looking at the 11th and 13th harmonics generated by a 10 MW 12 pulse rectifier.  It was interesting to get the expected FFT and not at all useful to the transformer manufacturer when I was questioning the heating effects.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #101 on: March 16, 2018, 05:15:10 pm »
I have The Fourier Transform and Its Application" 2nd ed.  I'm pretty sure they all have the dictionary of transforms.  It's one of the reasons it was so popular.  It's mathematically rigorous, though not at the level of "Operational Mathematics" by Churchill.  The latter consumed much of my life for two semesters. 

Book prices have gotten crazy.  Publishers like to push out new editions even though they are not justified in order to obsolete older editions.  But it makes the old edition cheap.  If you're building a personal library that's the way to go.

I have bought quite a few used books from Alibris and some new ones.  As you say, the prices are completely out of sight for new texts.  For my grandson's library, we are buying all textbooks as 'new' and planning to hold on to them forever.  I still have most of my college texts and I wish I hadn't sold a couple of them.  I also have duplicate copies of his textbooks.  Gotta try and keep up!

I have a couple of years to brush up before my grandson gets to signal processing.  In fact, his proposed major of computer engineering may not even get that far; I haven't seen the entire curriculum.  What I have seen of the lower division stuff is 4 computer science classes and only one circuit analysis course.  I don't know what the upper division stuff will look like.