Author Topic: Rigol DS1052E vs Agilent InfiniVision 2000/3000  (Read 5500 times)

Offline tekati

• Contributor
    • Stealth Micro
Rigol DS1052E vs Agilent InfiniVision 2000/3000
« on: May 09, 2011, 02:53:35 am »
I have been playing with electronics stuff for a few years. I am wanting to purchase some lab equipment and find the eevblogs to be extremely valuable information. The question I have between these oscilloscopes is what type of projects require the better scopes where say a Rigol won't do?

I understand the idea of having the single unit able to do function generator and logic analyzer stuff but besides that when would you really benefit from the extra power?

Online Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Rigol DS1052E vs Agilent InfiniVision 2000/3000
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 05:59:16 am »
when would you really benefit from the extra power?
when you go more advanced.
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2011, 06:57:13 am »
The more powerful scopes get you more advanced triggering and faster screen updating and more "analog like" operation.
This can be essential for tracking down really elusive faults or glitches in signals for example.

To meet any given measurement requirement with scopes you usually need X amount of bandwidth (with adequate real time sample rate), X amount of memory, and X triggering ability, and possibly X waveform updating speed. All scopes have X amount of that, so the answer to how much X you need is always "it depends". It's hard to generalise it to "types" of projects.
Any others features usually falls into the "nice to have" category instead of essential. But as always, YMMV.
One example might be segmented memory. If you need that for some obscure application, then there is absolutely no substitute for it, simple as that.