Author Topic: How does one allocate different voltages to different circuits from one supply?  (Read 747 times)

Offline DmeadsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • who needs deep learning when you have 555 timers
I am a beginner, and I am wondering about how to power different circuits with one supply.

Let's say we have a car battery with like 14v, how does that volatge get spread across the various radio, screen, and audio circuits. I'm assuming they don't all run off 14v.

I know you can use voltage dividers, but wouldn't that result in power losses if you use resistors?

Also with high power circuits, you would need high power dissipation resistors right?

If anyone can explain this to me that would be amazing! Also if anyone has any schematics or anything that would be really great.

Thanks in advance!

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
You use local voltage regulators, meaning each circuit has its own.

Offline jeroen79

• Frequent Contributor
Depending on the application there are several options.
-Linear regulator.
  Low efficiency but little noise.
-Switching DC-DC converter.
  More efficient but switching adds noise.
-Charge pump.
  For low current applications.
-Voltage divider.
  Most useful if you need some reference voltage with no load.

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
I am a beginner, and I am wondering about how to power different circuits with one supply.

Let's say we have a car battery with like 14v, how does that volatge get spread across the various radio, screen, and audio circuits. I'm assuming they don't all run off 14v.

This tends to happen with modern computer boards.

For an analogy, think about the mains supply in your house. Most items need a lower voltage, so you have various "wall wart" or "plug pack" adapters like cellphone chargers that you plug into the mains and get a low voltage out the other side. All of these adapters are various kinds of voltage step-down converter.