EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Electronics => Beginners => Topic started by: Codfishcatfish on November 01, 2018, 04:13:19 am

Title: Rigol DSA1030a-TG serial hack
Post by: Codfishcatfish on November 01, 2018, 04:13:19 am
Hi, i was wondering is anyone knows if the DSA1030a ever got an upgrade hack? I need the VSWR option as I biult my own VSWR bridge and it's considerably more comprehensive than the VB1020 offering. Problem is the licence is the deal breaker. Since the VB1020 is obsolete now the software has leapt to more than half the price of the scope and quite frankly it sucks. I know there are programs for the DDA832 but I'm old school and won't upgrade my trusty 1030a. Help very much appreciated
Title: Re: Rigol DSA1030a-TG serial hack
Post by: Mattjd on November 02, 2018, 12:49:33 pm
Rigol says DSA1030 is obsolete, the recommend the DSA832 instead, now if you instead can get the DSA815, there are hacks for the official unlocks

http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/ (http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/)


So if you can deal with 1.5 Ghz then you have that option
Title: Re: Rigol DSA1030a-TG serial hack
Post by: Codfishcatfish on November 08, 2018, 08:11:22 am
DSA815 is no where near the comprehensive Analyser as the DSA1030a-TG so not likely to downgrade. I hope the person who coded the original generator may find time to code the DSA1030a-TG as I really only need to run a few SWR tests, if they work with my homebrew VSWR Bridge then I would gladly take the plunge, I need to try before I buy. :-//
Title: Re: Rigol DSA1030a-TG serial hack
Post by: Armando1989 on June 01, 2021, 07:34:14 am
Hello!
I recently purchased DSA832E-TG, however im not sure the hack is same as for 815, i guess board is different. :phew:
May u help confirm? :D
Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Rigol DSA1030a-TG serial hack
Post by: HB9EVI on June 01, 2021, 10:14:56 am
I'd recommend a NanoVNA to work with SWR/impedances; a normal SA is not more than a scalar analyzer which normally shows just the return loss/SWR; real antenna measurements/improvements are not possible like that