Author Topic: RS232 Differences/Advantages between D-Sub 9 and 25  (Read 2643 times)

Offline giacomoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
RS232 Differences/Advantages between D-Sub 9 and 25
« on: April 20, 2021, 10:30:48 pm »
Hello everyone, i wanted to ask the difference/advantages between the RS232 that uses the D-Sub 25 pin connector and the 9 pin version

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: RS232 Differences/Advantages between D-Sub 9 and 25
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2021, 10:51:40 pm »
See the pinouts on this page, along with descriptions and text: https://www.virtual-serial-port.org/article/what-is-serial-port/rs232-pinout/

The following users thanked this post: giacomo

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2021, 10:54:43 pm »
Hello everyone, i wanted to ask the difference/advantages between the RS232 that uses the D-Sub 25 pin connector and the 9 pin version
What devices are you connecting, what distance?

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2021, 11:00:37 pm »
I have some old instruments with the 25 pin connector, a 25 to 9 pin cable would do the job. Just a couple of meters.

It was just curiosity.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2021, 11:04:30 pm by giacomo »

Offline mvs

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2021, 11:15:26 pm »
RS232 is very old interface. DB25 connector was original one with some additional signals and reserved pins. DB9 came later, with a rise of the pesonal computers in eighties.
8250 and 16550 UARTs, and obviously later SuperIO chips were able to serve only 8 signals used in DB9. DB25 connectors were used for physical compatibility only and had no advanteges over DB9. I doubt you will find any working equipment with RS232 that use more signals then DB9 can carry.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2021, 11:26:44 pm »
Thank you guys

Would you have an use example for the secondary signals ?

From the article posted by mariush: