Author Topic: Safe to hook osciloscope probe directly to this bridge rectifier?  (Read 935 times)

Offline wmundstockTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi All.
So I am studying some basics of power supplies. Built the simplest circuit possible. Used a transformer to convert AC 127V to AC12V. Then added a full wave rectifier with 4 diodes. One resistor to be the load.
I verified everything and the differential probe shows the full rectified wave.

Question is: Can I plug the standard probes to the output of the transformer and the output of the rectifier safely without ground loop issues?
In other words, will it blow? I think it should be safe as the transformer will isolate the main's ground from the circuit.

Thanks.
Walter

Offline adinsen

• Regular Contributor
Re: Safe to hook osciloscope probe directly to this bridge rectifier?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2024, 09:24:27 pm »
The transformer will indeed isolate the circuit from the mains so you are safe and will not create a ground loop connecting the oscilloscope probe to your recitifier to see the rectified signal, even when the scope is grounded.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2024, 09:27:41 pm »
The transformer will indeed isolate the circuit from the mains so you are safe and will not create a ground loop connecting the oscilloscope probe to your recitifier to see the rectified signal, even when the scope is grounded.

Thank you very much!

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2024, 09:29:58 pm »
Provided the secondary isn't already grounded, yes that's right.

Note you can connect scope ground to *either* one of the transformer secondary wires or one of the bridge rectifier DC output pins (normally the negative one), *NOT* *BOTH*.   If you need to look at the AC in at the same time as the DC out, use your differential probe for the AC, across both secondary wires.